Department of Engineering

Latest news

Latest news


Engineering student Gareth Keeves awarded the highest mark worldwide

17 Feb 2010

Gareth Keeves, 21, was awarded the highest mark worldwide for the Diploma in Financial Management.

Read more
Engineering graduate Nicholas Patrick

Graduate Nicholas Patrick, astronaut, on his second mission into space

11 Feb 2010

Last weekend in Florida was the shuttle launch of the spaceship Endeavour.

Read more

News from the Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics

08 Feb 2010

Dr Daping Chu has become the new Head of the Photonics and Sensors Group and Chairman of the Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics (CAPE) Steering Committee.

Read more

Engineering for a low carbon future seminar series lent term 2010

03 Feb 2010

ELCF forthcoming seminars - Lent term 2010.

Read more

Human language translation technology competition winners

01 Feb 2010

An annual international competition to find the best Machine Translation systems has announced the 2009 winners.

Read more
'Project Pebble'

Carl Zeiss Photography Competition at the Department of Engineering

23 Jan 2010

This year's photography competition is again sponsored Carl Zeiss.

Read more
Professor Robert Mair

Professor Mair awarded CBE in the Queen's New Year's Honours List

14 Jan 2010

Professor Robert James Mair, FREng FRS has been recognised in the Queen’s New Year Honours list.

Read more

The Cambridge 2009 iGEM team awarded the Grand Prize

13 Jan 2010

The Cambridge 2009 iGEM team was awarded the Grand Prize at the iGEM2009 Synthetic Biology competition finals at MIT.

Read more
Professor Steve Young

Professor Steve Young receives prestigious awards

11 Jan 2010

Professor Steve Young is to be awarded the International Speech Communication Association (ISCA) Medal for Scientific Achievement.

Read more
Scale model of a typical Sri Lankan house

Paper on ‘tsunami resistant’ houses wins the Institution of Civil Engineers Bill Curtin prize

06 Jan 2010

A paper by Dr Indrasenan Thusyanthan has won the Bill Curtin prize

Read more