Department of Engineering

Latest news

Latest news


£1k Business Ideas Competition winners announced

21 Feb 2007

This year's Cambridge University Entrepreneurs (CUE) £1k Business Ideas Competition awards ceremony was recently held in Cambridge's Guildhall.

Read more
2006 winning photo: 'Tails from the nozzle bank'

Owlstone Photography Competition at the Department of Engineering

15 Feb 2007

This year's photography competition, open to all staff and students in the Department, is sponsored by a Department spin-off company Owlstone.

Read more

5th Annual Lecture Series in Sustainable Development

05 Feb 2007

The Department's Centre for Sustainable Development hosts an Annual Lecture Series where experts distinguished in the field of sustainable development give a presentation on their subject.

Read more

Professor Kenneth Johnson awarded the Timoshenko Medal

31 Jan 2007

Professor Kenneth Johnson FRS, FEng has been awarded the prestigious Timoshenko Medal.

Read more

Engineering graduate receives the Sword of Honour prize at Sandhurst

24 Jan 2007

Engineering graduate, Junior Under Officer Angela Laycock received the Sword of Honour prize at Sandhurst.

Read more

Options for an environmentally sustainable fashion industry

17 Jan 2007

A new study by researchers in the Department's Institute for Manufacturing's (IfM) Sustainable Manufacturing Group, sets out a vision of a sustainable clothes industry.

Read more

Alumna wins 'Individual of the Year' award for her post Tsunami shelter programme

10 Jan 2007

Jo da Silva has been named 'Individual of the Year 2006' for her role in a United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees project.

Read more

New Year Honours

03 Jan 2007

Professor Ann Dowling has been recognised in the New Year Honours list and is to become a Dame for services to Science.

Read more
Susan and David Hibbitt

Engineer endows new faculty position

18 Dec 2006

A Cambridge engineering graduate who founded an engineering software company has donated more than £2million to endow a post in solid mechanics.

Read more

Dr Kenichi Soga wins the George Stephenson Medal

13 Dec 2006

Dr Kenichi Soga, Dr Sang Ratnam and Robert Whittle were awarded this year's George Stephenson Medal.

Read more