Department of Engineering / Profiles / Dr Sungsik Lee

Department of Engineering

Dr Sungsik Lee


Research interests


Dr. Sungsik Lee is a Research Associate at Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge. He received Ph.D. degree from University College London in August 2013, where he intensively investigated on physic and modeling for conduction and optoelectronic mechanisms in oxide thin film transistors since enrolled in Sept. 2010. He was awarded both overseas research scholarship and graduate research scholarship for his Ph.D study. Between 2007 and 2010, he was a researcher in Korean national lab -ETRI, where he joined after the graduation from KAIST. In ETRI, he developed a CMOS High Sensitivity Capacitive Readout Circuit for a capacitive sensor, which was sold to companies in Korea. 

His research lies in the semiconductor physics and devices in terms of an energy-efficient electronic device structure and operation. Here, thin film transistors and devices are mainly considered since they are the most favorable for futuristic electronics, such as low cost and large area wearable systems in the IoT environment. So far, he has published over 60 articles including journal papers (recently published in Science), invited/contributed talks, and U.S. patents (filed/awarded) in those areas (* h-index = 12, see

As his professional and international activities, he has been being a member and referee of IEEE, IEEE EDS, IEEE PS, & AIP. And he was assigned as an associate guest editor of IEEE Journal of Display Technology, and playing the role as a Young-Professional Committee member elected by the IEEE EDS (used to be GOLD committee). Also, he is a technical program committee member of the international conferences, including IEEE AP Sensors / ISSII, and was a session chair of IEEE Sensors 2012 in Taiwan. In 2011, he won the prestigious IEEE EDS PhD Fellowship (1st place), and recently got the ABTA Doctoral Researcher Award (3rd place). Recently, he became an editorial board member of the American Mathematical Institute of Science (AIMS) Electronic Engineering Journal.