Teaching excellence rewarded with Pilkington Prizes

8 July 2005



Eleven members of academic staff at the University have been awarded Pilkington Prizes for 2005 in recognition of their excellence in teaching.

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Alison Richard, presented the prizes at a ceremony at the Sir Geoffrey Cass Centre, Cambridge

University Press on 7 July.

The winners are: Aylmer Johnson, Senior Lecturer, Department of Engineering; Dr Patrick Baert, University Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology; Dr Natalia Berloff, University Lecturer, Department of Applied Mathematics & Theoretical Physics; Professor Roberto Cipolla, Professor of Information Engineering, Department of Engineering; Dr Robert Henderson, Senior Lecturer, Department of Pharmacology; Dr Mark Morris, University Lecturer, Faculty of Oriental Studies; Janet O'Sullivan, University Lecturer, Faculty of Law; Dr Alex Oliver, University Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Philosophy; Dr Philip Rubery, University Senior Lecturer, Department of Biochemistry; Dr Paul Siklos, Associate Clinical Dean, Faculty of Clinical Medicine; Professor Ben D Simons, Department of Physics.

Dr Paul Siklos, a winner this year, joins his brother, Dr Stephen Siklos of the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, who was awarded a Pilkington prize in 1999.

Dr Siklos teaches clinical students on the standard Cambridge Clinical Course. He is also Director of the new Graduate Entry Medical Course. The first group entered in Sept 2001 and have just qualified.

"Many experienced teachers forget what it was like to be a novice, however Dr Siklos seems to understand how to set his students on the right path to developing a firm grasp of clinical examination. After his teaching sessions I always feel confident that I will be able to build upon what he has covered," said Matthew Simunovic, one of his graduate students.

The Pilkington Prizes were set up by the late Sir Alastair Pilkington, former Chairman of the Cambridge Foundation. The Prizes are supported by Cambridge University Press.

