Department of Engineering / News / Institute for Manufacturing lecturer recognised for teaching excellence

Department of Engineering

Institute for Manufacturing lecturer recognised for teaching excellence

Institute for Manufacturing lecturer recognised for teaching excellence

Dr James Moultrie has been awarded one of the University of Cambridge's Pilkington Prizes - awarded to individuals who have shown teaching of exceptional quality.  

Senior Lecturer in Design Management at the Institute for Manufacturing (IfM), Dr Moultrie is one of just 12 individuals from across the university to receive the award.

He was recognised for his transformational work in providing MET students with the management competence, business acumen and interpersonal and organisational skills they need to become world-class leaders.

Dr Moultrie leads the IfM’s Manufacturing Design Show where MET students complete a major design project to develop a new product, with real business potential, and then present their product to an invited audience of local industrialists and

The Design Show involves the students developing displays to explain the technical and business ideas behind their products, together with design details and prototype models of the products themselves. The projects have generated some exciting new ideas and innovative technology, some of which have gone on to be commercialised.

The Pilkington prizes reveal the diversity of teaching at Cambridge but certain themes emerge, in particular a focus on the individual student, the value of research-led teaching, the continuing importance of one-to-one teaching, innovation in teaching practice, interdisciplinary approaches, and above all, dedication to students.

The Pilkington Prizes were initiated by Sir Alastair Pilkington – graduate of Trinity College, engineer, businessman and the first Chairman of the Cambridge Foundation – who passionately believed that teaching excellence was crucial to Cambridge’s future success.

The Pilkington Prizes are organised by The Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning, which supports staff by providing training, developing networks, hosting events and encouraging and funding innovation. The Centre also provides a focus for strategic priorities within Cambridge and for engaging with national and international developments in higher education.

New films about teaching at Cambridge

The University has produced a series of films about five of this year’s Pilkington Prize winners. These films go behind the scenes to show Cambridge teaching in action as well as inviting winners to explain their passion for teaching and reveal some of their trade secrets. The films feature Lecturer in German Thought, Martin Ruehl; Physics Lecturer Lisa Jardine-Wright; Sociologist Mónica Moreno Figueroa; Zoologist Andrew Balmford; and Design Engineer James Moultrie. Watch the films here.

This year’s Pilkington Prize winners in full are:
Dr Anthony Ashton (Department of Mathematics)
Dr Jackie Brearley (Department of Veterinary Medicine)
Dr Jude Browne (Department of Politics and International Studies)
Dr Menna Clatworthy (School of Clinical Medicine)
Dr Richard Davies (School of Clinical Medicine)
Dr Ingo Gildenhard (Faculty of Classics)
Dr Nigel Kettley (Institute of Continuing Education)
Professor Jochen Runde (Judge Business School)
Dr Martin Ruehl (Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages)
Dr Lisa Jardine-Wright (Department of Physics)
Dr Mónica Moreno Figueroa​ (Department of Sociology)
Professor Andrew Balmford (Department of Zoology)
Dr James Moultrie (Department of Engineering)
Read more about the 2017 Pilkington Prize winners here.

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page. For image use please see separate credits above.