Department of Engineering / News / Whittle Laboratory celebrates thirty years

Department of Engineering

Whittle Laboratory celebrates thirty years

Whittle Laboratory celebrates thirty years

The Whittle Laboratory was officially opened, as the 'Science Research Council Turbomachinery Laboratory', on 25 May 1973, by Air Commodore Sir Frank Whittle.

The Directors of the Whittle Lab over thirty years :front row left to right - Sir William Hawthorn, Sir John Horlock, Dr Denis Whitehead, back row - Professor John Denton, Dr Nick Cumpsty.

To celebrate the thirtieth anniversary of this event a reunion of past and present Whittle Laboratory members was held at the Lab on Saturday 5 July. (The Lab was renamed the 'Whittle Laboratory' in November 1975.)

100 present and previous members of the Lab; staff, students and technicians attended. Presentations were given by Sir John Horlock, the first Director; Professor John Denton and Dr Nick Cumpsty who summarised the history of the lab and its development over the past 30 years. These talks were followed by a barbeque lunch and tours of the Laboratories. A good day was had by all.

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page. For image use please see separate credits above.