Department of Engineering / News / Cambridge academics honoured over the New Year

Department of Engineering

Cambridge academics honoured over the New Year

Cambridge academics honoured over the New Year

Professor Sir David Mackay and Professor Dame Ann Dowling

Members of the Department of Engineering have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to society.

Professor Dame Ann Dowling, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and former Head of Department, has been appointed to the Order of Merit by HM The Queen.

The Order of Merit is given to those who have rendered exceptionally meritorious services towards the advancement of the arts, learning, literature and science. The award is in the personal gift of The Queen, and is limited to 24 recipients.

Current President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Dowling’s research is primarily in the fields of combustion, acoustics and vibration, aimed at low-emission combustion and quiet vehicles. She is one of the founders of the Energy Efficient Cities initiative in Cambridge and was the UK lead of the Silent Aircraft Initiative.

She was appointed CBE for services to Mechanical Engineering in 2002, and promoted DBE for services to Science in 2007.

Dame Ann, a Fellow of Sidney Sussex College, said: “I was surprised, delighted and very, very honoured to be appointed to the Order of Merit.”

Also recognised in the New Year’s honours list was Professor Sir David MacKay, Regius Professor of Engineering since 2013. He has been knighted ‘for services to scientific advice in Government and science outreach.’

A Fellow of Darwin College and author of Sustainable Energy Without The Hot Air, Sir David’s work examines the full economic and societal impact of a shift to sustainable energy sources. He recently gave a TEDx talk on our dependence on fossil fuels opening a real discussion on sustainable energy sources.

Sir David said: “I am absolutely delighted to receive this honour. I'd like to thank all those from across the political spectrum who supported my work advocating a numerate, engineering-based approach to energy policy and climate-change action, and the civil servants who taught me how to deliver scientific advice in Whitehall; I'd also like to express my gratitude to the University of Cambridge for their support for me throughout my career.”

Additionally, Sir James Dyson CBE FREng FRS, founder of Dyson Ltd and a benefactor of the Department, was appointed to the Order of Merit for his contributions and achievements in industrial design. 

Also among this year’s honoured were Professor of Neurology Alastair Compston, Faculty of Mathematics member Dr Emily Shuckburgh and Honorary Fellow of St Catharine’s College Harvey McGrath.

A version of this article originally appeared on the University of Cambridge website.

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Images, including our videos, are Copyright ©University of Cambridge and licensors/contributors as identified.  All rights reserved. We make our image and video content available in a number of ways that permit your use and sharing of our content under their respective Terms.