Department of Engineering / News / IfM leader awarded IET Achievement Medal for Manufacturing

Department of Engineering

IfM leader awarded IET Achievement Medal for Manufacturing

IfM leader awarded IET Achievement Medal for Manufacturing

Professor Andy Neely, Head of the Institute for Manufacturing (IfM) and Founding Director of the Cambridge Service Alliance, has been awarded the Achievement Medal for Manufacturing from the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

The IET Achievement Awards, which recognise some of the world’s top engineering talent, acknowledge individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of science, engineering and technology in any sector, either through research and development in their respective technical field or through their leadership of an enterprise.

Dr Ian Nussey OBE, part of the Awards and Prizes Committee for IET, said: “Founding Director of the Cambridge Service Alliance, Professor Andy Neely has been at the forefront of research on manufacturing industries for over 25 years. He is one of the most widely cited scholars in the world on two primary topics of research and has personally advised four governments.

“His work on servitisation – the tendency for manufacturing firms to sell services and solutions rather than products – has ensured long term survival and success for many UK firms. His ideas on key performance indicators have influenced numerous organisations to rethink how they position themselves for long term success, including their wider responsibilities to society.”

Dr Tim Constandinou, Chair of the IET Awards and Prizes Committee, said: “These awards enable us to recognise the huge impact that leading engineers and technologists have made within the engineering profession and on all our lives. Whether they are a young professional demonstrating outstanding ability or an engineer at the pinnacle of their career, the Achievement Awards are a way for the IET to celebrate their success. All of those who have been shortlisted, as well as the winners, should be extremely proud of their achievements.”

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page. For image use please see separate credits above.